Lot Koopmans Honoured in MPLS Teaching Awards

Lot Koopmans Honoured in MPLS Teaching Awards

The Mathematical, Physical, and Life Sciences (MPLS) Division at the University is once again celebrating the outstanding teaching efforts of its staff, with seven remarkable individuals honoured in this year’s MPLS Teaching Awards. One of this year’s winners is Lot Koopmans, a DPhil in the Department of Earth Sciences.

Lot received 22 nominations from staff and students, all of which were endorsed by the Department. Many of Lot’s nominations note how Lot goes ‘above and beyond’ for students after stepping in to cover while another member of staff is on sabbatical. Students and staff really value Lot’s enthusiasm and willingness to take the time to help break down complicated topics, describing him as a kind, patient, and approachable teacher. Various nominations also mention Lot’s significant contributions to Earth Sciences field trips and his supervision of Masters students. Many of the nominations note how Lot goes far beyond what is usually expected of a graduate student and how his dedication to students is both impressive and admirable. Students describe Lot as a ‘great teacher’ and ‘a joy to learn from’.

The MPLS divisional Teaching Awards scheme is dedicated to celebrating success and recognising innovative teaching practices across all career stages. This initiative is open to everyone engaged in teaching roles, including graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, faculty members, and learning support staff.

This year, the awards attracted a high level of interest with 63 members of staff nominated through 114 separate nominations. The selection process concluded in June, and winners were chosen based on merit by a cross-departmental panel chaired by Professor Martin Castell, Associate Head of Division (Taught Degrees).

Reflecting on this year’s selection process, Professor Martin Castell said: ‘The MPLS Teaching Awards continue to be a fantastic celebration of pedagogic excellence within our Division. It was a challenge to select only seven winners from such an impressive pool of candidates. I am particularly delighted by the range of early-career and more established educators who were nominated. Congratulations to all our winners and nominees for their remarkable contributions to teaching.’

Professor Jim Naismith, Head of the MPLS Division, expressed his admiration for this year’s nominees: ‘Oxford teaching transforms lives for the better. MPLS is rightly proud of the efforts of our colleagues who deliver excellent teaching day in day out. I am really pleased to celebrate some exceptional and inspirational teachers who have won these awards and those who were nominated.’

The awardees will be honoured at a special reception this September, attended by senior leadership from across the MPLS Division, celebrating another year of exceptional teaching achievements.

The full list of winners is available to view on the MPLS website.